It’s not delivery, it’s homemade…

I LOOOVE pizza, however living 30 miles from town, delivery is non-existent.  I guess I’ve never actually executed a plan but I am guessing the regular delivery guy would turn around at the 11 mile marker…we can’t even get PG&E to be consistent on a call.  However, just because I live on the hill doesn’t mean we can’t experience pizza night every once in a while.  I have tried many pizza recipes and everyone has their favorite, but my favorite to make and eat is out of “The Pioneer Woman Cooks” cookbook by Ree Drummond…

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/02/my-favorite-pizza/

The only difference I made to this dough was to substitute half of the white flour for wheat flour.   Of course wheat dough isn’t as chewy and soft, but I’m trying to be good.

I decided to make calzones with the dough.  What’s nice about calzones is that you can fill them up with anything you have in the fridge and you don’t have to worry about how pretty it looks…

20120825-200522.jpg

This calzone has arugula, mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, ground turkey and tomato-basil pesto and some salt, pepper, garlic and olive oil to taste.

20120825-200624.jpg

20120825-200535.jpg

I sprayed the top of them with olive oil and sprinkled some herbs and garlic salt over the top.  Wheat dough doesn’t really get the golden look that white dough achieves…but again, if I was going to make calzones I wanted to be somewhat good.

20120825-200555.jpg

Here is the finished product inside….

20120825-200604.jpg

You can cut up the dough and make personal calzones, or you can make one big one to share…either way, channel your inner italian and give it a try!

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment